Road Trip: Foça

This past weekend, I ventured out to Foça, a picturesque seaside town about an hour’s drive from Izmir. It was the perfect Sunday escape from the city’s heat. First we drove through Yeni Foça (New Foça), which wasn’t much, just a bunch of summer homes. As we drove along a winding coastal road, the view of the sea was stunning, with its deep blue water and gently sloping cliffs. We stopped midway between Yeni Foça and Eski Foça (Old Foça) at the Mambo Beach Club, which was located on a private beach.

The moment I stepped into the club, I felt like I had been transported back to the U.S. to someone’s private pool party in Miami or L.A. American hip-hop was blasting from central speakers, and scantly-clad women were tanning themselves on lounge chairs and giant pillows. There was a full bar with overpriced beverages and entrees. The water was initially freezing, but after awhile it was refreshing. The swimming conditions were not ideal though, because 1) I keep choking on the salt water 2) there were big waves. So swimming against the tide back to the pier proved to be a bit of a challenge for me, battling waves, while trying not to ingest too much salt water. Afterward my swimming misadventure, I opted for lying on the beach all day, which I could definitely get use to. Add in some cold, homemade lemonade and it was really hard to leave.

In the evening, we drove to Eski Foça, and went into the center of town for some cold beer and calamari. On our way to the restaurant, we encountered a water polo game in the town’s harbor, amid the sailboats, which I thought provided a original backdrop for the match.

