Hello Summer! Why Are You So Hot??

As if on cue, after a brief period of stormy weather in the last week of May, the summer heat came with the arrival of June. Coming from a cooler climate, where there is no real summer, getting use to a dry, hot Mediterranean summer takes some getting use to.

When I checked the forecast for this week online, instead of the regular weather icons, there were thermometer icons with descriptions like “very hot” or “blazing sunshine.”

I asked various locals, hoping maybe this was a temporary fluke in the weather system, a freak heatwave, but the general consensus is this is perfectly normal.

When I feel like I’m melting, I tell myself things could always be worse. At least there’s no humidity here. It’s important to find the small things in life to be thankful for…

