Toruń, Poland-Gingerbread and Gothic Architecture

Toruń was much more beautiful than I expected and is completely underrated as a city when it comes to Polish tourism. The Old Town is situated on the banks of the Wisła river and seeing it coming across the bridge from the train station, I truly felt like I was going back in time and encountering a medieval fortress made out of red bricks glistening in the late afternoon sun. Getting off the bus and walking through the gate to the Old Town, slowly revealed a magnificent town square that largely escaped the destruction of World War II. Toruń was built by the Teutonic nights and is considered to be one of the oldest cities in Poland.

Toruń is also the birthplace of Mikołaj Kopernik (Nicolaus Copernicus) and being the culture nerd that I am, my first sightseeing destination was his home right after I got settled in my hostel (I arrived at two, it closed at four). After looking at his kitchen, bedroom and various astronomical instruments that he used, I watched a short commentary on his life with an informative, if not slightly odd, visual and audio show. Back in the town square I made sure to buy some of the mandatory pierniki toruńskie (Toruń gingerbread) that the city is famous for.

