Turkish Cuisine-A Love Affair

The first time I experienced a Turkish breakfast in Boston, was the moment that I fell in love with this country’s rich cuisine. The different spices that were blended into succulent omelets stuffed with sujuk (Turkish sausage) and red peppers and the variety of different food that were present, black and green olives, different cheeses, honey, jams, and the mandatory bread provide a feast that appealed both to my appetite and my senses.

Turkish Breakfast

Turkish main courses draw their rich flavors from the various influences of the different countries that the Ottoman Empire conquered. One of the most popular and well-known Turkish dishes is the kebab, with many different variations. The doner kebab is the most globally popular, recognized from the street corners of Istanbul to Krakow, small pieces of meat are carved off slow-roasting spits of meat and stuffed into pita bread for a quick and savory meal. The Adana kebab is another popular meat dish in Turkey and is made on as a long, flat skewer with hand-minced meat.

Adana kebab

Some of my other favorites were köfte (Turkish meatballs) and börek (fried pastries filled with meat, cheese and vegetables).

My sweet tooth was easily satisfied in Istanbul, with the large array of delicious sweets that adorned numerous shop windows and many times I couldn’t resist the lure of deserts that temped me from behind the display windows. Baklava was my favorite desert with its honey-drenched layers of flaky dough, but a close second was lokum (Turkish delights), a jelly-like confection that was used to aid digestion during the Ottoman Empire era.

Baklava

Lokum

