Thoughts on Turkey

Tomorrow I will be in Istanbul. I’m still in disbelief that I’m finally going to Turkey after all these years. My love affair with this country started a few years ago when I began to hear stories from friends and how it was like no other place they had ever been to. Since then I have read numerous articles on the country, met quite a few amicable Turks and have become addicted to the diverse cuisine. In preparation for my trip, I having been reading Orhan Pamuk’s Istanbul: Memories and the City, trying to get a feel for the country and culture I know so little about. Afterward when I browse through my Lonely Planet Istanbul City Guide, I begin to recognize Istanbul from Pamuk’s descriptions and the landscape of this city begins to form faintly in my mind.

